More Sad Ramblings

I’m finding it almost impossible not to think about the alternate universe I could be living in right now if I had not lost my baby.

Instead of hauling heavy boxes up two long flights of stairs to set up for a work event, I would be wrapping up projects and briefing my coworkers who would be covering for me during my maternity leave.

Instead of crying over random baby items I (still) find stashed around the house, I would be purposefully and happily unboxing all the baby stuff from storage.

Instead of dreading having lunch with a friend who is also parenting with infertility, fearful that she may have “news” to share with me**, I would be excited to catch up with her and find out if they had decided on a FET date. 

I honestly don’t know if it’s healthy to let myself have these thoughts or not, but I don’t think I could stop them. Is it part of the grieving process, or is it hindering the process? I don’t know. They aren’t all-consuming thoughts, though they usually trigger a crying episode. I know I should be kind to myself right now, but having written this down, I now feel kind of pathetic. But, man, reality hurts so much right now.


** Damn, I hate when my instincts are right. She learned she was surprise pregnant from her pre-transfer bloodwork. I’m happy for them, but…. well, you know.

7 thoughts on “More Sad Ramblings

  1. I was in a situation like yours- TFMR. It is a really hard road. I’m 5 years out and still imagine my alternate universe (2 months from a 5th birthday). Big hugs. It does get easier with time.

  2. I think that these thoughts are perfectly normal and part of the grieving process. Acknowledge them. I think that if you try to push them away it won’t be healthy.

  3. I think it’s ok to have these thoughts, it’s hard not to think about what could have been. I think acknowledging them and letting yourself cry is healthier than trying to push them away. Sending you so much love ❤

Talk to Me!

