9 Weeks

I know I’ve said this before, but all this waiting during the first trimester is pure agony. The last two weeks have felt like an eternity (which is a tired cliche, I know, but I’m tired, and cliches are all I have right now). My last ultrasound was fine, great even. I’ve had no more bleeding, no cramping. The only thing that has given me any real reason to be concerned is morning sickness that comes and goes. When it goes, I worry; and when it comes back, I’m only moderately relieved.

Finally, the day of my 4th ultrasound arrived, at precisely 9 weeks. I was nervous going in, needless to say, and even more nervous when I saw that my technician was the inexperienced one who did my second ultrasound and possibly got the measurements wrong. Again, it took her about 20 minutes to complete the ultrasound, and she had to have her work checked by an experienced technician before she could remove the wand. It was incredibly uncomfortable.

Fortunately, she let me know right away that the heart rate was around 169, and at the end, she let me see the little flickering heart beat on the screen. Later, I learned baby grew by 2 weeks 1 day since the last ultrasound, exactly 2 weeks ago. So, looking good! My RE officially released me to my OB, who I will see next week. I took my last estrace and Crinone yesterday, and plan to stop the PIO after my OB visit. Thank the gods!

I don’t know if it’s my age (almost 39), or the fact that I have a toddler, or the large amount of hormones I’m taking, but this pregnancy is kicking my ass in the exhaustion department. A couple nights ago I was so tired at 7:00 pm that I was actually a little lightheaded. I’m ready for my second trimester burst of energy!

With the bleeding and confusing measurements early on in this pregnancy, I’ve been hesitant to tell a lot of people. At the same time, I’m too tired and lazy to hide my already-visible bump, so it’s been a bit weird around people who haven’t seen me in a while. I can tell they want to say something, but are too polite or scared of being wrong. I think now, though, we will start telling more people, and letting ourselves believe this will actually turn out okay.

Oh, and the people who do know about this pregnancy are already referring to the baby as “he.” I have a boy feeling, too, but I can’t be sure if it’s because I kind of hope to have a boy, or if it’s actual maternal instinct. Time will tell!

3 thoughts on “9 Weeks

  1. As long as we’re talking cliches, I feel you, I really do. Every thing you’ve written about I felt during my pregnancies after losses. I felt utterly mental with all of it. Ironically, I just listened to the first half of the BI pregnancy after IF podcast today and nearly cried with wishing I’d had it back then. Go listen to it if you haven’t yet. It does’t take the difficulty away, of course, and you really know it all already, but I don’t think we can ever tire of hearing our feelings and fears are normal and we’re not alone. Just keep plugging, mama. Sending hugs. xo

  2. I was definitely MORE tired during pregnancy #2 than I was with pregnancy #1 and I’m positive it was because of the toddler running around. You could park your ass on the couch during #1 and not worry about a little one getting into something- not now!

    Happy to hear that the baby is growing well and you are almost done with the drugs. Only a few more weeks before you are in the second trimester! 🙂

Talk to Me!

