20 Pounds Gone

Starting weight:  236      

Current weight:  216      

Weight loss so far:  20

Things that weigh 20 pounds: a car tire, a fat cat, 2 bags of sugar, 4 chihuahuas weight

Lately, my weight loss program hasn’t been easy. I’m an emotional eater, and lately, my emotions have been getting the better of me. Our upcoming FET, our empty savings account after paying for our upcoming FET, a toddler who hates to sleep and doesn’t want to quit breastfeeding, an increasingly demanding job, a decrease in “me time.”

I’ve been able to maintain a steady loss, despite falling off the wagon on a regular basis for the last month. I’m glad for that, but I’m disturbed by how often I “cheat” on my program, as that’s really the goal here – to reduce my emotional eating and make better choices more often. I need to restart and refocus in order to get back on track. In a few days, when I meet with my coach again, I’m going to ask about making a few changes to my meal plan. I think maybe it’s too restrictive, leaving me wanting and vulnerable to cravings.

Overall, I feel pretty awesome! I’m proud of myself. I’m more comfortable in my own body. My clothes fit better. My wedding ring fits again for the first time in 2 years! I have a long way to go in terms of dealing with stress and food, but I’ve accepted that it’s going to be a struggle for the rest of my life. If I can make good, non-emotional choices most of the time, I would consider that a triumph!

stressed-is-desserts-spelled-backwards

 

9 thoughts on “20 Pounds Gone

  1. 20 pounds is an amazing effort!!! Feeling guilty for slip ups won’t get you anywhere. After a slip up just sit down when you’re calm and focus on what you can learn from it. Then think about 20 freakin pounds that YOU got rid of!

  2. Over time the cheats will come less and less. I have cheated a few times and then get right back on track. I also found healthier cheat items like dark chocolate or homemade low carb brownies and my favorite cauliflower hummus. Focus on the positives not the momentary lapse.

  3. 20 pounds is an amazing accomplishment! I’m an emotional eater as well, so I can understand the struggles you’re dealing with. I’m so proud of what you’ve achieved so far, I can’t wait to see what else you accomplish in the future!

  4. Congrats on the weight loss! I’ve been on a journey of my own for what will be a year in April and have lost 38lbs. That doesn’t seem like much for a year, but I also have PCOS and hypothyroidism, and this is the lowest weight I’ve been since I don’t know when that didn’t involve starving myself. Probably early teens. Anyway, my point is that it’s not an easy journey, and it may not be quick, but if you are feeling better about yourself then you’re doing great! I’ve found that setting small goals- like 5lbs at a time- helps. Especially when the weight loss slows down or you hit a plateau. Don’t put yourself down about slip ups or cheating, it happens!

Talk to Me!

