Moving Forward With FET

Butterflies in my stomach! Our upcoming FET is so much more real now. Last week, I spoke to my RE, who was just lovely and very positive about this FET working for us. We talked about breast feeding, and how I will need to completely stop before starting the estrogen, as the hormone is transmitted through breast milk. We haven’t had our calendar visit with the clinic yet, so I don’t have an exact date, but it won’t be until at least March or April. That gives me a little more time for C to self-wean, but I have serious doubts that it will happen that way.

I’ll have to repeat the saline sonogram (which hurt like a motherfucker the last time), and have some basic blood work done. The protocol is simple: Birth control for a few weeks to time it to the schedule, estrogen to plump my lining, then progesterone (Crinone).

We have 3 embryos in storage. They will thaw one at a time, because we’re doing a single transfer this time. Last time, we were okay with the idea of twins, but this time… not so much. For one, I can hardly imagine what it would be like with ONE newborn and a toddler. In addition, I’m pushing 40, and I just don’t want a risky(er) pregnancy. I realize it’s possible that I could end up with twins from transferring one embryo – if that happens, we’ll deal with it – but I’m just not interested in tempting the fates. Considering the fact that both embryos implanted the last time… well…

The hardest part will be the cost. Our infertility benefits were exhausted with our fresh IVF cycle, so we have to pay 100% out of pocket this time. We’ve been saving for it, so it won’t be a huge burden. But if it fails the first time, I’m not sure how we will pay for another try. I’m trying not to get ahead of myself, but I can’t help but think that we used up all of our luck getting pregnant on our first fresh cycle. Is it possible to get that lucky a second a time?

819d6303a1dfff98c757253030470e57

 

10 thoughts on “Moving Forward With FET

  1. Well I hope this works for you as well as it did for me 😍😍 the costs suck, but have you found out how much it is? It’s usually WAY “cheaper” than IVF. Also, I was scared of the saline ultrasound again (I had one a few months ago because of my constant bleeding)… I wasn’t expecting to have one, so I didn’t have Advil before it or anything. It didn’t even really hurt! I think maybe because my uterus was already used to being stretched out from pregnancy, it was easy to re-inflate it a little. So, I hope the same goes for you ☺️

    • The total cost is less than a fresh cycle, but since we had insurance coverage for the fresh cycle, but not this FET, the FET will actually be more money out of our own pockets.
      I hope you’re right about the saline sono – maybe it won’t be as bad this time! Thank you so much for your support!

Talk to Me!

