Reflections and Resolutions

Looking Back on 2015

Obviously, this has been the year of the baby. C was in her first year for most of it, which meant a lot of firsts, trials and errors, tears (happy and sad), and sleepless nights. One of the biggest challenges has been her sleep. After month 3, things went downhill fast, and they are only just now starting to improve. That means I haven’t slept through the night in more than a year. I read all of the books (which all contradict each other, by the way), tried all of the things (including crying it out, which wasn’t my finest moment), and finally came to the conclusion that C will probably figure this out this whole sleep thing in her own time, hopefully before she leaves for college.

Another big challenge was breastfeeding. The year started out pretty well. My nipples had finally healed and we were in a nice groove… until about March or April. It was around that time that I had had enough of pumping, and I was craving the return of my body to myself. After blogging about it, I had an epiphany – I don’t have to pump! It’s making me miserable, so why not just stop? Could it really be that easy? It was. I stopped pumping while I was away from my baby (my supply had dwindled anyway), C received formula at daycare, and I continued to nurse her when she was with me. It was the perfect solution for us. With pumping out of the way, I enjoyed nursing more.

Among C’s myriad of firsts, I had my own first this year: The first time I was on a podcast. My blog caught the attention of Heather Huhman, the host of a new podcast called Beat Infertility. She asked if I would share my success story to give others hope. Uncharacteristically, I said yes, and I’m so happy that I did. Heather has a built an incredible resource through her podcast, and I’m proud to have my small part in it.

What I Resolve in 2016

I’ve given it some thought, and rather than try to change X, Y, and Z things that are wrong with me, or set goals I know I won’t reach (like going to the gym X times a month), I decided to make my resolutions more positive and attainable. In 2016, I resolve to:

  • Be kind to myself, because I’m only human.
  • Celebrate myself, because I’m a pretty awesome person.
  • Listen to myself, because I’m pretty damn smart.
  • Finally finish knitting C’s baby blanket, because it’s embarrassing that I started it I nearly 2 years ago, and it’s still only about half completed.

Happy New Year to all of you!

IMG_0893

Happy New Year from the only creatures getting any sleep in our house.

Talk to Me!

