The Start of Another Journey

As if the journey to build my family hasn’t been challenging enough, I decided it was time to get serious about losing weight and getting healthy. I broached the topic with my family doctor during my annual exam, and she referred me to our clinic’s weight loss program. It’s comprehensive – an eating plan that starts out rigid to force you to make good choices and control portions, then transitions into something you can maintain long-term; an activity plan that matches your interests, abilities, and schedule; and weekly one-on-one coaching sessions to reprogram how you think about food. I’m only 4 days in, but already I can feel changes:

  • I have more energy.
  • My mood has improved significantly.
  • I don’t have raging heartburn at night.

I was expecting hunger and uncontrollable cravings, but the meal plan keeps me satisfied and feeling good. If I feel myself gravitating towards junk food and overeating, it’s not due to cravings or hunger, but simply habit. I had developed a lot of bad habits surrounding food.

One of the nice things about this plan is that I can stay on it if I get pregnant. Programs like Weight Watchers don’t allow pregnant women to participate (at least WW didn’t the last time I was on it). Not that I plan to continue losing weight while pregnant, but if I’m forced to quit the program while pregnant, I may go back to my bad habits, and the chances of me going back on it afterwards are greatly reduced.

While weight loss is one of the goals of this program, for me, the priority is improving my physical health. My cholesterol test results came back borderline high, and though not tested for it, I suspect I’m pre-diabetic. In addition, I just want to feel comfortable in my body again. I’m not sure what weight that will correlate to, but I have set a long-term goal of losing about 60 pounds. Here are my beginning stats:

Weight: 236 pounds (goal of 170, though I’d be happy under 190. I’m 5’9″)

Cholesterol: 182 (normal is <200, so I’m okay there)

Triglyceride: 190 (high – target is <150)

HDL: 34 (low – target is >=40)

LDL: 110 (high – target is <100)

Even though my overall cholesterol is good, the combination of low HDL, high LDL, and high triglyceride is not good.

So, there you have it! I’ll post updates at least monthly, whether it’s going well or not.

6 thoughts on “The Start of Another Journey

  1. This is wonderful! I am so proud of you. Since I will probably gain 60 pounds with this pregnancy like I did with the last one, I’ll be right there along with you soon enough! Good luck and I look forward to the updates!

Talk to Me!

