It’s a Major Award!

img_1003

I was nominated by the beautiful Lauren at On Fecund Thought for this wonderful blogging “award,” which, let’s face it, is really just homework in disguise. I kid, of course! I’m very flattered that you thought of me, Lauren! I like these awards, because they allow us to learn more about each other, beyond our regularly scheduled blog posts.

First, the Rules:

  1. Link to the person who nominated you.
  2. Add the award logo.
  3. Answer the questions your nominator asked.
  4. Nominate 7 other blogs.
  5. Ask your nominees 10 questions.

Here are my answers:

What is something you are really good at?

Hmmm… there are so many to choose from! *winky face* I’m great at organizing, because I love to make lists. Mmmmm….. LISTS!

What do you wish you were better at?

Decorating. I usually end up with an “eclectic” look, but it’s really just because I have no idea what I’m doing, and pick up things I like here and there, without any thought as to how they go together. Right now my house is an empty canvas, but I have no idea where to start.

What has your loss / infertility journey taught you about life?

Almost everyone has had some sort of tragedy in life, whether infant loss, infertility, loss of a parent or sibling or close friend, disease, homelessness, etc. My journey has taught me to be sensitive to these things, and not assume everyone else has led a charmed life, because the truth is, most of us haven’t.

Paper diary or digital calendar?

Digital, all the way!

Where did you meet your other half?

We met online, through personal ads. Funny story: Turns out we had a friend in common, so we probably would have met eventually.

What are you wearing right now?

Right now, I’m wearing my work day basics: black slacks, sleeveless blouse, knit shrug/sweater thing, flat shoes.

When did you discover you could write?

Can I write? I can string words together to form sentences (I’m a grammar whiz), and every so often those words and sentences might join forces to create something interesting or funny, but I’m not sure I can write. In college, I realized that I could write better than most of my peers, at least when it came to research. But, the creative stuff? Essays? Meh. I took creative writing, but my work was embarrassingly cliche.

What is your favourite time of day, and why?

In general, I love mornings! Not so early that it’s pitch dark, but early enough that the world is still relatively quiet and most people aren’t exhausted from the day’s activities yet. People just seem nicer and the world calmer and more full of hope in the morning hours.

Lately, my favorite time of the day is 5:00 pm, when I leave work and pick my daughter up from daycare. Seeing her smiling face light up when I walk in the door is priceless! Our cuddle and nursing time when we get home is something I wouldn’t trade for anything.

What piece of wisdom would you give your ten-year-old self?

Fuck what other people think about you. Embrace your passions, even if others tell you they’re stupid. You are awesome!

What’s the farthest from home you’ve travelled?

It’s a near tie between San Francisco and Washington, D.C., but San Francisco wins by about 30 miles. Washington, D.C., however, was the first time I had been farther than one state away from home. I was in the 8th grade, representing our state at some national history competition. Our topic was the Dead Sea scrolls. San Francisco came much later, in my early 20s. I visited my best friend in Reno, NV, where she was living at the time, and we took a side trip to the coast. I’m almost embarrassed to admit that in between those two trips, I didn’t wander farther than about 500 miles from home. I love the idea of travel, but I’m intimidated by it and I would much rather stay close to home.


Ok, so now I’m supposed to nominate 7 other blogs. Feel free to nominate yourself, too!

My Lady Bits
Not So New To IVF
Pregnancy Pause
Ambivalent Journey
A Neon Princess
Our Last Embryo
You and Me Are Family

The 10 questions you must answer:

What is your favorite book of all time and why?

What is your proudest accomplishment?

What is your favorite memory?

If you could do anything you wanted right now, what would you do?

What did you want to be when you were young?

If you were to create a piece of art, what would the subject be, or what would the medium be? (Or both, if you wish.)

How do you want to be remembered?

What’s your greatest talent?

How do you get to work?

Create your own question! Ask and answer, anything you want.

Talk to Me!

