6 Months & Making Plans

First, a baby update: C turned 6 months old yesterday. Six whole months! It’s unbelievable to me.

Likes

  • Squealing at the top of her lungs, especially when I match her squeal for squeal. It’s quite a fun game!
  • Jumping in her ExerSaucer
  • Grabbing ALL THE THINGS, ALL THE TIME
  • Putting all the things she grabs immediately into her mouth
  • Tugging on dad’s beard
  • Reading books
  • Crinkly toys

Dislikes

  • Getting dressed
  • Being strapped into her car seat
  • Sitting up
  • Not being able to put my iPhone into her mouth
  • Strangers

She hasn’t had her 6 month check up yet, so I don’t know exactly how big she is, but I would estimate about 16-17 pounds and maybe 25 inches long (that’s a total guess).

Food

I’m still breastfeeding, and pumping while at work. It’s kind of a pain, especially when I travel, but I know it won’t be forever. In fact, I plan to wean at 12 months, if she hasn’t weaned herself before then. We have introduced solids. Our original plan was to do baby-lead weaning, but C doesn’t have much patience for learning to feed herself. She actually prefers that we put food directly into her mouth (which goes against baby-lead weaning). Instead, we’re doing a sort of hybrid. We give her whole foods from our meals, along with baby cereal and purees. Her favorites are strips of cooked red bell pepper, baked sweet potato fries, oatmeal, and peaches.

Sleep

The first thing everyone asks us is, “How is she sleeping?” The answer always varies, because sometimes it’s great and sometimes it’s not so great. But it’s mostly pretty good. Between teething, growth spurts, learning new skills, and eating new foods, it’s a wonder she doesn’t have more bad nights.

Milestones

So far, I think she’s hit all the milestones we would expect. She rolls over both ways easily, and can sit up for short periods unassisted. She doesn’t crawl or scoot yet, but she has learned how to rotate on her stomach. She can stand with help, but she’d rather be jumping. She LOVES to “talk,” especially when I pick her up from daycare.

I could go on and on, but I don’t want to bore you. In a nutshell, C is awesome and things are going as well as I could hope!


The Best Laid Plans

It may be premature to talk about this, but M and I made a big decision recently. We decided we would try for baby #2 starting in August (when C will be a year old). We will try naturally (I can barely type that without laughing) until the spring of 2016, when we will attempt FET with our frozen embryos. Even though it’s a whole six months away, just thinking about trying naturally brings up a whole host of emotions, most of which make me want to vomit. I think I will have to force myself to not think of it as trying at all, but it won’t be easy.

13 thoughts on “6 Months & Making Plans

  1. Good to hear from you! I’m so glad C is doing well! Thinking about baby #2 definitely brings up all kinds of emotions. We don’t have any kind of plan yet, but I make hypothetical ones in my head all the time!

  2. Yay for C! First, we wanted to do BLW as well but my daughter only wanted to be fed purées. Then, all of a sudden at 9 months, she started grabbing food off of our plates, and she now insists on only feeding herself. So you never know when these kids will be ready for these things! And then about baby 2, I had the same plan to start trying around her first birthday…then I totally, crazily, unexpectedly got pregnant 6 months postpartum. Now I am expecting baby 2 just 15 months after my daughter was born. I know this isn’t at all typical, and it’s nuts to me that it even happened, but just a personal story that shows how our bodies don’t care at all about our plans.

  3. I’m so glad to read that C is doing well. Best wishes in your attempt for #2. Conception is not an exact science. There are many people who after treatments conceived their first child were able to conceive their second naturally. So you never know. I’ll be here rooting for you and your family.

    • Thank you, Greg! I often think of all those stories of women conceiving naturally after IVF, and I can’t help but hope (!) that might be me. My gut tells me to get used to the idea of having an only child – which I’m totally okay with at this point. (More than okay – I’m thrilled that we have even one child.) In a way, it would be nice to just attempt FET, and if it works, awesome, but if it doesn’t, we’re okay with that, too. I’m worried that I’ll get caught up in the craziness of TTC again and undo that “okay.”

  4. Glad C is doing so well!

    We started talking about #2 when my daughter was only a few weeks old! Ha ha. We didn’t prevent for a year but didn’t expect to get pregnant on our own anyway. We just found out that our FET worked and my first ultrasound is Friday!

Talk to Me!

