Reblog: When Postpartum Depression isn’t Depression

This post from Alicia at SmyrnaParent.com really resonated with me. While my experience has not been as extreme as hers, I can definitely relate to her fears. Most importantly, I want to draw attention to the fact that postpartum depression isn’t always depression. It can be anxiety, too. It’s called Perinatal Mood and Anxiety Disorder. I think many of us who experienced infertility before having our babies can relate to this.

Our baby had proven herself a fighter every step of the way. But I couldn’t see it like that. In my mind, I imagined a figurative Grim Reaper hiding in the shadows, determined to finally take the baby who wasn’t supposed to be here.

Read her full post “When Postpartum Depression isn’t Depression.”

Talk to Me!

