2 Months Later

Has it really been two months already? Has it only been two months? Any given day, I go back and forth between the two many, many times. Everyone keeps telling me to savor these early days and weeks, because before I know, she will be graduating from college. It’s true, part of me is a little sad that Little Miss has outgrown her newborn clothes and diapers. But another part of me can’t wait until she can sit up on her own, crawl, walk, drive…. I can’t say exactly why I’m so eager for her to grow up. I’m certainly not in a hurry to get older myself!

At the same time, I’m already getting anxious about going back to work and putting C in daycare full time. I worry about how long I’ll be able to keep breastfeeding, whether she will get enough attention at daycare, and how I’ll be able to focus on work when my baby is spending the majority of her waking hours with someone who is not me. I know everything will be just fine. I know it, but it doesn’t stop the worry.

Aside from worrying about things I can’t control, things which won’t even happen for another few weeks, things are going amazingly well. I recovered quickly from my c-section, and breastfeeding is going well. (I had some awful cracked nipples for a few weeks, which made me dread each feeding, but once I healed, it became an enjoyable bonding time for us.) I don’t mind not leaving the house for days at a time (I’m a homebody), but I do enjoy getting out once in a while to run errands with C or have dinner with M.

Not every day is unicorns and rainbows, of course. We both have bad days, especially around growth spurts. But, overall, I couldn’t ask for a better experience.

Getting to Know Little Miss

Likes  Eating, sleeping, lying on her changing table, baths, swinging, dancing, The Beatles, light fixtures, being held to look around over my shoulder

Dislikes  The act of swaddling (she loves it once she settles in), being put to sleep, car seat, not being held 24/7, pacifiers

She lost a bit of weight after birth, but with frequent feedings, she gained it back in less than two weeks, without having to supplement. Now she’s growing like a weed and hitting all the milestones right on time!

IMG_0590

Some Stuff I’ve Learned

Do NOT underestimate the importance of a good latch when breastfeeding. I could have saved myself a great deal of pain had I worked harder on it.

Swaddling is essential to a good night’s sleep. Swaddle Me and Halo swaddle sacks are awesome!

You can’t always sleep when baby sleeps, but you should at least half of the time.

There’s no shame in asking your mom to do your laundry, wash your dishes, or clean your bathroom.

The pain of infertility never goes away, even when you’re snuggling your baby. Pregnancy announcements from fertiles still hurt like hell.

I’m really looking forward to the holidays. This is the first year in a long time that I’ve been able to say that!

5 thoughts on “2 Months Later

  1. Amazing that C is two months old already! When are you due back at work? I hope it goes well. I’m going back in just over two weeks – I’m incredibly lucky that I work from home and set my own hours, but I’m still quite nervous about it.

    Your breastfeeding experience sounds really similar to mine (latch problems, cracked nipples, dreading each feed) except that I gave up and switched to formula. If you don’t mind me asking, how long did it take you to get the latch right, and what help did you have / what worked? I’m asking for the hypothetical next time that will never happen! 😉

    • The help I got in the hospital was invaluable. I swear, every other nurse was a lactation consultant, plus they kept bringing in others. They showed me how to create the right shape for her to latch on to and how to guide her on to the breast. My main problems were flat nipples and soft breasts, so it was hard for her to keep latched properly at first. Plus she’s really aggressive and squirmy when she eats. So, once she latched, whether it was good or not, I let her go, as I was afraid she wouldn’t eat if I kept pulling her off. That was a big mistake. By 6 weeks, we had it right, though to be honest, she still sometimes gets lazy and doesn’t latch right. I did try nipple shells for a while, to encourage them to pop out more, but they didn’t work. I still have to use my hand to create something for her to latch on to.

      • Thanks! I had a really straightforward birth and was discharged from hospital within 24 hours, and I think that was part of the problem – I didn’t get much breastfeeding support. Plus the midwives were understaffed and helping new mums with nursing wasn’t their top priority. It’s a shame the government here has a really aggressive “breast is best” campaign but hasn’t actually made the help women need available. Oh, well. I hope you and C are still doing well! 🙂

Talk to Me!

