Passed the GD Test!

After my last post, I decided I need to post more often or risk another long, bulleted update. I usually don’t even think to write unless something is bothering me, which makes it seem like I’m a constant ball of negativity, which is far from the truth. And when I think to post something positive, I have major guilt and worry that I will sound like I’m bragging. I can’t win when it comes to my own brain.

Here I am, almost 28 weeks pregnant, just a week shy of 3rd trimester, and 3 months until my due date. I must say, things have been pretty damn easy up until now, physically, at least. I felt movement fairly early on, even though it turns out I have an anterior placenta. I’ve had no cramping, no bleeding, no scares of any kind. No terrible morning sickness. I don’t sleep well at all, my ribs ache, I’m out of breath easily, I pee my pants when I sneeze, and I think I might have restless leg syndrome, but those are minor complaints compared to what some women go through. I expect I’ll grow more uncomfortable these last 3 months, but I’m so very grateful that I’ve been spared so far.

This morning I had my gestational diabetes (GD) screening, which I had been dreading. I also had another ultrasound to check the baby’s kidneys and spine, since she didn’t cooperate last time. I’m happy to report that I passed the test! Baby girl was still stubborn, though, so the tech could only see one kidney clearly and just part of the spine – both are just fine. On to Round 3 in two weeks – fingers crossed she changes position by then. Since we didn’t get a good image of her face, I leave you with my almost 28 week bump:

(Almost) 28 Weeks Update

How far along: 27w5d (due date August 28)

Total weight gain/loss: +5 pounds over pre-pregnancy weight (lost 7-8 during first tri).

Symptoms: 

  • Restless leg syndrome?
  • Sore ribs
  • Out of breath easily
  • Dark splotches on my forehead are getting worse
  • Heartburn
  • Insomnia
  • Mild incontinence
  • Swollen feet and ankles – comes and goes

Sleep: Awful. Not only do I get up several times due to discomfort and a full bladder, sometimes I just can’t get back to sleep and end up getting out of bed to read or watch TV. People keep telling me to get as much sleep as I can now, because once the baby comes…. So annoying!

Best moment: Getting all the home-buying crap sorted out and realizing that we won’t have to bring baby home to a 3rd floor apartment.

Movement: Feeling it every day; patterns are starting to emerge. For instance, I usually feel her first thing when I wake up and when I’m relaxing on the couch after work (and sporadically in between). Still haven’t felt her from the outside.

Food cravings: None.

Sex of the baby: Female.

Labor signs: None.

Belly button: Still an innie. Hasn’t changed much since my last update.

What I miss: Sleep.

What I look forward to: My husband being able to feel movement.

Baby buys: I bought a swaddler from a local baby boutique and took advantage of a few free online offers for things like baby leggings, a nursing cover, and a car seat canopy. We’re going to get a ton of stuff at the shower, so we’re not buying anything until we know what gaps need to be filled.

Milestones: Passing the GD test!

19 thoughts on “Passed the GD Test!

  1. Congratulations on passing the GD test! I never understand why people tell pregnant ladies to stock up on sleep now, it’s not like we have a stock pile that we can take from once the baby’s here!

    • Thank you! It’s the most useless thing one can say. There’s absolutely nothing I can do about it. I call it practice for when baby comes, but that doesn’t make me feel much better.

  2. Awesome post! I’m glad you have had a fairly easy pregnancy thus far and you passed your GD test!!!! I can’t believe you’re almost in your 3rd trimester already!! Keep going strong and I look forward to more updates!

  3. It’s hard to balance the happiness of being pregnant and still thinking as an infertile, I felt like I was bragging and felt guilty if my posts were too happy as well. I’m sure many of your readers can understand your sentiments, but you deserve to be happy and make whatever type of posts you’d like:) I didn’t start feeling any major discomfort until 35wks, so I had it pretty easy as well. Congrats on passing the GD test!! I hope things continue to go smoothly!

  4. Congratulations on passing the GD test! My little boy wouldn’t turn over either at our 20 weeks scan, so I have to go back in two weeks to get a better look at the spine and kidneys, just like yourself 😉 I hope you have better luck next time 🙂

  5. Congrats on passing the GD test! I’m glad your pregnancy has been fairly uneventful so far. It definitely gets more uncomfortable, but, in my opinion, the 3rd trimester goes way too fast! Enjoy it as much as you can. I hope your hubby gets to feel some kicks soon!

  6. Woohooo!!!! That is so exciting!!! I have mine tomorrow and I am hoping that I have just as good of results as you 😀 I have been trying to eat as few carbs and sugar today as possible in preparation LOL

  7. That comment regarding ‘sleep all you can now’ haha! People just need something to say. It isn’t as if you can bank it.
    I have had horrible sleep my entire 3rd trimester. And I cannot tell you how many times I have heard some variation of that dumb comment.

  8. With regards the sleep comments – having given birth a week ago – I was grateful that I was used to interrupted sleep and not getting all that much. It means I’ve been fairly functional during the day since baby was born. I have taken the odd nap during the day when I can, but it’s certainly not consistent.

    My advice – stock up on newborn size clothing. I took all mine back as I was told I was going to have a big baby. Well he’s tall, but he’s not big – he drowns in 0-3 month. I ended up sending my sister to buy some more newborn size clothes so that we have a few changes of outfits. And if you are breast feeding, drink lots and lots of liquids during the day! I have to remind myself to drink all the time. I suck at drinking water at the best of times.

    I also had a pretty easy pregnancy – very similar symptoms to you. I really only felt discomfort the last 2-3 weeks though. Enjoy the bump as much as possible in your third tri. It’s over so quickly and then you have this empty feeling, but a beautiful baby in your arms.

Talk to Me!

