My Awesome Day!

If you follow me on Twitter, this may be old news.

Yesterday was an awesome day! Around mid-afternoon, I felt the baby move for the very first time. There was no mistaking it for gas. It’s hard to describe the sensation, but it was kind of like someone blowing bubbles with a straw inside my uterus. It was ever so fleeting – though strong – but I knew it was baby. Cue happy tears.

Then, an hour later, I received a call from the clinic. The results of the Verifi test were ready (this is the one that tests for Down syndrome, Trisomy 13, and Trisomy 18). There were no abnormalities detected. We also opted to learn the baby’s sex through this test. Are you ready for it?

GIRL! 

M told me a few days ago to “just text” him after I got the call, but I just couldn’t. I didn’t want to do anything elaborate or cheesy, but I wanted something a little more special than a text message, so I bought a foil balloon that says “It’s a girl!” and gave it to him when I got home from work. Even though I’ve been telling him that I think it’s a girl for weeks now, he seemed stunned and a little disbelieving. I think reality is finally settling in. For both of us. We held each other tight for a long time.

We would be excited no matter what, but I have to admit that having a girl is extra special to me. She will be my mom’s first granddaughter (she has two grandsons), and we plan to name her after my grandmother (who was also named after her grandmother). This will be a huge deal for my mom and her sisters – and for me. My grandma was the most loving, caring, happy, positive, fun woman I’ve ever known, and I miss her every day. She was the nucleus of our family. Cancer took her from us 16 years ago, way too soon. It wasn’t until recently that I learned she had lost 3 children. I knew about one: he was her youngest, stillborn. The other two were miscarriages. So, I feel an extra special bond with her. I can think of no better tribute than passing on her name to our daughter, along with her intense love for and pride in her family.

13 thoughts on “My Awesome Day!

Talk to Me!

