First OB Visit & 10 Weeks Update

First OB appointment

Everything went perfectly, despite my somewhat irrational fears. Even though I’ve seen a growing baby and a healthy heartbeat every week for the last 3 weeks, there was still a part of me that kept reliving the day almost 3 years ago when the doctor couldn’t find a heartbeat with the Doppler at my first prenatal appointment. Because it was my first pregnancy, there was no need for early ultrasounds, so that would have been our first listen. We will never know if that baby ever had a heartbeat, or if there was ever really a baby at all, for by the time we had an ultrasound, there was nothing but a small, empty sac.

Anyway, like I said, everything went fine this time. The OB found the heartbeat right away (~170 bpm), I had a chance to ask all my questions, and the lab collected bodily fluids for testing. I was disappointed to learn that I will have only one more ultrasound during this pregnancy, around 16-18 weeks. My OB’s office does not do the NT (nuchal translucency) scan for Down syndrome screening, because they do not have anyone trained to read the scans. I could travel 3 hours for that test, but instead I opted for a blood test that gives you an even better idea of the risk of Down syndrome, as well as other birth defects. It’s not 100%, but it lets you know if you need more invasive tests, like an amniocentesis. It can also tell you the baby’s sex, if you choose (which we will). This particular test is called Verifi, but there are others, including Materni21 (or Mat21). The test can take place any time after 10 weeks. I’m doing mine in one month.

So, other than being of “advanced maternal age” at the ripe age of 36, I’m just your average normal pregnant woman, according to my clinic. In lots of ways, that’s awesome, but I sure don’t feel it. I still feel fragile and nervous, in need of constant validation. A friend of mine gave me her home Doppler, so that should provide some reassurance in between appointments. Of course, it could also lead to even more anxiety should I have a hard time finding the heartbeat. I think I’ll save it for “emergency” situations.

10 Weeks Update

(I may or may not do these updates every week. I haven’t decided yet. When I do one, it will appear at the end of another post, most likely. You can just skip over them if they bore you. They are mostly just a record for myself.)

How far along: 10w1d (due date August 28)

Total weight gain/loss: -5 lbs

Symptoms: 

  • Nearly constant nausea, worse when I get hungry.
  • No appetite most of the time. When I do get hungry, I’m ravenous and nauseated at the same time. Super fun!
  • Exhausted. All. The. Time.
  • Emotional. I’m irritable (especially when driving) and I cry at anything even remotely cute or sentimental. The new Budweiser Super Bowl commercial had me in tears.

Maternity clothes: I wear a belly band to disguise the fact that I can’t close my pants. I have purchased 2 pairs of maternity pants and a few tops for work, I still have 2 pairs of jeans I bought last time (but never got to wear), and I recently ordered some crop pants, since I’ll be pregnant all summer.

Stretch marks: None yet.

Sleep: I get between 7.5 and 8.5 hours a night, but it never feels like enough. I have very strange, vivid dreams every night, which often wake me up in the middle of the night. So far, my bladder hasn’t given me too much trouble.

Best moment: Hearing the heartbeat on the Doppler!

Movement: Way too early.

Food cravings: Nothing, really. I have my old impulses to indulge in cookies, donuts, and ice cream, but none of those things appeal to me. In fact, sweet things make me a little sick. I mostly want starchy things, like pasta and potatoes, but I wouldn’t call them cravings.

Gender: Too early.

Labor signs: None, thank goodness!

Belly button: No change; still an inny.

What I miss: Feeling rested.

What I look forward to: Feeling movement.

Baby buys: Nothing yet, but I am knitting a blanket. We have a few hand-me-down toys and a bassinet from last time.

Milestones: Hearing the heartbeat for the first time!

21 thoughts on “First OB Visit & 10 Weeks Update

  1. Yay. I’m so glad to hear that the appointment went well. I will admit I love that we see BSquirt at every appointment – it does just keep my fears at bay.

    Enjoy being “normal”! Easier said than done I know.

    And I totally get the irrationality in traffic – it’s something I am still struggling with.

  2. Love the update ❤ I wish my OB tried the dopplar when I went on Monday for my first prenatal appt. She said that since I had just had the ultrasound it wasn't needed. Oh well, only 17 days till my 12 week scan. That is kind of a bummer that you only get one more but I guess each practice is different. I am doing the Mat21 test in addition to the NT scan, I think that it's a great test they have available now 🙂 Plus… I love the fact that we are only one day apart 😀 xoxo

    • Mine said she wouldn’t need to listen, since I just had a u/s last week, but she did anyway. She even warned me that there was a 50/50 chance of picking it up so early, but that it would be a good excuse for another u/s if she couldn’t find it (wink, wink). I knew I picked a good one!

  3. I just found out my OB doesn’t do the NT scan either which kind of bums me out, it would have been nice to see the baby another time. A tip with the doppler: start lower than you think you need to. I was looking halfway between my pubic bone and my belly button, but eventually found the heartbeat below my pubic bone. Woohoo for 10 weeks and your first OB visit!

    • Thanks for the tip! I noticed the OB was very low when she found it. I couldn’t hear it at first, but after listening for a few seconds, I could make it out.

  4. I’m so glad your appointment went well! I know how you feel about being a “normal” pregnant person. I’ve felt like I ask a million more questions at my OB appointments than other women, and need many more reassurances. They must think so too, because I once spied the word “anxious” in my chart. Ha ha.
    I would have rather had the blood test vs. the NT scan, although of course it’s fun to see the baby with an ultrasound. It’s so exciting to know the sex so early though! And the blood test is more accurate than the scan anyway. I look forward to reading more updates from you 🙂

  5. I’m so glad the appt went well! Only one more ultrasound? Wow it really differs depending on your doctor!

    The starchy cravings are normal for the first tri. I was all about bagels!

  6. Oh wow can I ever relate to this post. We are so close in timing too. I feel the need for constant validation, I feel unbelievably fragile and scared too, and I plan to get a Doppler as well to put my fears to rest in emergency breakdown situations.
    I’ve got my blood test today. Eek! I’m glad we’ve decided to do it, whatever minimises stress! Nuchal scan in two weeks. I’ll be watching and wishing you and the bean well. Hugs xx

    • Thank you! 5 pounds doesn’t account for much on my tall, large frame. I can still wear all of my regular pants, I just can’t close them. I guess that means the weight came off from somewhere else!

      • Wow, that is crazy or else it is water or fluid retention! I have put 3lbs on after 11 weeks(Friday) and just slightly tighter around belly but hoping to wear my own trousers for another while! Hate idea of buying new clothes that I will only wear for a bit!

        • Probably just bloat, which I’ve had since before the egg retrieval. I’ve found some fairly inexpensive maternity pieces. I figure, if I don’t end up using them a second time, I can always sell them. I have a few regular tops that I’ll probably be able to wear until the end, but since I’m tall, most things barely cover my torso the way it is. They’d end up looking like cropped shirts when my baby bump gets big!

Talk to Me!

