Knitting for Baby

Twice now I have attempted to purchase something baby-related, as a show of confidence that this pregnancy will indeed end with a healthy baby in my arms. The first time, I got distracted and bought a bunch of clothes for my cousin’s preemie, who recently reached “newborn” size after being born 12 weeks early. The second time, I just didn’t find anything that spoke to me.

To prove that I do have confidence (or that I’m really good at pretending), I submit the following evidence:

1531950_10151792414201741_1956780027_o

Sometime between weeks 6 and 7, I ordered some fairly expensive yarn with the intention of knitting a blanket for our baby. On Sunday, I started that project. It’s the first time I’ve ever knitted something with a cable pattern, which I thought would be a challenge, but it turns out it’s pretty easy (though slow-going).

What the finished blanket will look like (different color)

What the finished blanket will look like. Click to see pattern on Ravelry.com.

So, now I don’t feel so bad that I haven’t purchased a onesie or a pair of tiny shoes. To me, this blanket means so much more, because of all the time and effort that will go into knitting every stitch. It’s my hope that knitting this blanket (a little bit, every day) will help this pregnancy feel more real and help me feel more connected to the baby growing inside of me.

Finally, I leave you with our gummy bear, 9 weeks today, heart rate 185. This was my last scan with the RE. I am now officially an OB patient! I told my boss and coworkers today, as well. (They all knew we were doing IVF, but, respecting my privacy, have not asked about the results. I figured it was time to share the good news.) I kind of want to start telling everyone now. But I won’t. Well, maybe just a few.

IMG_2221

19 thoughts on “Knitting for Baby

  1. Yay for a healthy gummy bear! Can’t wait to see the finished result of your blanket. I crochet, but never learned how to knit, and I think I’ll start a blanket once I know the sex 🙂

  2. I recently taught myself to knit and started a (much easier) blanket for our baby, too. Like you said, I love being able to put so much myself into it, stitch by stitch. I’m excited that you’re doing the same! Anything that helps you feel more connected to your little gummy bear is wonderful!

  3. Try as hard as you can to get it finished before bubs arrives. I’m still trying to finish mine but I did more in the week before Isaac arrived than I’ve done in the four months he’s been here.

  4. What an adorable little gummy bear!!! I’ve been wanting to learn to knit for years now, but have never done it. I was waiting for someone to teach me, but I suppose I should just teach myself 🙂
    Congrats on graduating to the OB as well!

    • I took lessons several years ago to get started, but I still consult help videos now and then. I can’t do socks, and even simple hats don’t turn out right, but I rock anything rectangular!

  5. Aw, such a cute little gummy bear ultrasound!! A blanket is definitely way more special than any clothing items you could buy, I’m sure it will be beautiful!

  6. I’m jealous that you’re able to knit, I’ve tried many times and have never been able to wrap my head around it. I love that you’re making Baby something, I agree that it means so much more than buying a onesie off the rack; I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

    Congratulations on graduating to the OB, and I’m so glad that both you and Baby are doing well.

    • Thanks! I had to have someone teach me; it wasn’t something I could learn from a book or videos. And I still suck at socks and anything that isn’t a rectangle. 😉

  7. Yay for graduating and yay for the blanket. I didn’t dare buy anything for our one success story until the third tri and even then was terrified I would undo the good fortune of getting that far by doing so. I crocheted a blanket though and it was hugely therapeutic and good bonding time. Wishing you all flavours of goodness and peace in the coming months. So glad things are looking good.

Talk to Me!

