All I Want for Christmas

For details about today’s results, see IVF Timeline.

Okay, so I know I said I wouldn’t update after every appointment, but this one was rather special. Not the appointment itself, but the miniature hell I endured getting there.

You see, I’m doing IVF in December. In North Dakota. And my clinic is 200 miles away from my home. Not a very bright idea, I will admit.

This was the scene for much of my journey to the clinic this morning.

photo

Interstate 94

I averaged about 45 miles an hour, and had to stop twice to remove the ice from my windshield wipers. Fortunately, I arrived – an hour and ten minutes late – safe and sound. The return trip was paradise compared to this. I was a tight ball of stress for a good 10 hours today, so it’s no surprise that I’m exhausted at 7:00 pm and in need of a massage. I should be relaxing tomorrow and Wednesday (retrieval is Thursday), but we’re expecting more snow. On top of that, I only just realized that I don’t have everything I need to take my trigger shot tomorrow, so I’ll have to make some calls and venture out into the snow storm to fetch what I need from the local pharmacy.

M and I decided to drive to the clinic on Wednesday and stay overnight, so that we won’t have to worry about travel delays on retrieval day. It would be a great plan, except that it’s supposed to snow all day Tuesday and Wednesday.

What was I thinking, choosing to do IVF in December?

Of course, if this works, it will all be worth it.

On the way back from the clinic, this song popped up on my iPhone, which is strange because I was certain I had cleared all the holiday music long ago, and it’s never made it into the music shuffle before now. It happens to be my favorite Christmas song, and today it made me cry like a baby. Because, baby, all I want for Christmas is you!

24 thoughts on “All I Want for Christmas

  1. From one madwoman to another: drive safely and good luck! We’re doing IVF in December and have to drive 12 hours for the first visit or fly back and forth about 6 times during the hellish (and hellishly expensive) Christmas season. I’m supposed to be staying with a friend and driving 60-90 minutes for scans during stims, too, but between Christmas and New Year’s. Ugh. I’m feeling your pain but really hoping this is your lucky Christmas baby.

  2. Driving in the snow is stressful! Glad you made it safe and sound. Give yourselves plenty of time to drive on Wednesday. Fingers crossed for a great retrieval!

  3. Oh my! So glad you made it today! (I grew up in Wyoming, so I know how scary this can be.) I am wishing you safe travels to and from your appointments and of course I hope you get what you want for Christmas 😉

    • It wasn’t very cold, thank goodness. The cold comes later, after the snow. Along with lots of wind. I know we’ll be safe with M at the wheel, but it’s still stressful!

  4. I feel your pain! We always seemed to get crap weather for our drive to. After the first “incident” we always made sure to get there the night before just in case. Travel safely and fingers crossed for co-operative weather.

  5. We stayed overnight at a hotel next to the clinic before the transfer and it was the best decision ever. I only wish we’d stayed overnight before the retrieval! It was money WELL spent. It reduced my anxiety enormously, and we only had a 45 minute drive (2 hours in traffic) and no weather concerns. I’m so excited for you, and have my fingers crossed that everything goes well!

  6. Pingback: The Great Egg Harvest Adventure | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

Talk to Me!

