Giving Thanks

Last year, I didn’t write a proper thankful post for the holidays. It wasn’t that I had nothing to be thankful for, but I think I was in too bad of a place to embrace all the positive things in my life at the time. I’ve come a long way in a year. In fact, I decided to start my thankful post early and keep adding to it before publishing it around Thanksgiving. Not that I couldn’t express my gratitude at any time, but ’tis the season!

(These are in no particular order.)

  • I often lament the fact that we can afford only one IVF cycle, but I am incredibly thankful that we have enough insurance coverage to afford even one cycle. I know that many couples have to save for years or take out loans or a second mortgage in order to finance IVF. Many more don’t have the resources to try IVF even once. So, as much as I whine about our one and only chance, I am grateful that we have this chance.
  • I am so very thankful for the online infertility community. As I mentioned in my recent Blogiversary post, I could not get through this journey without it – without you! I often find myself emotionally exhausted keeping up with Twitter and the blogs I follow, with all the ups and downs that we all experience, but I wouldn’t give it up for anything. Not only have I learned more about infertility and IVF than I ever thought I would need or want to know, I’ve received such tremendous support.
  • I am, of course, thankful for my husband. He has never wavered in his commitment to our journey to have a baby. (He did flat out refuse to give me injections, but I can hardly blame him for that!) He doesn’t complain or flinch when he turns over his gig money to me to pay for our IVF. Also, together we are so going to rock parenthood! I just know it.
  • I am thankful for my understanding and supportive family. When we first started fertility treatments, my mom generously offered to help us out financially. She is not a wealthy woman, yet she is willing to hand over whatever she can to help us achieve our dream of having a baby. She’s also taking time off work to come to the transfer, so that M doesn’t have to take more time off from work. No one in my family has ever given us a hard time for avoiding family gatherings or skipping out on baby showers. They don’t pry with constant questions, but they don’t avoid the topic, either, and they don’t judge our choices.
  • I am thankful for my best friend, who always knows the right thing to say and who never makes me feel like my infertility woes are annoying. In fact, she calls me to specifically talk about the latest tests, treatment, or just to see how I’m feeling about it.
  • I am thankful for my supportive and flexible boss. When I learned my coworker had done a total of 16 IUI cycles in order to get pregnant with her two sons, I knew my boss would not have a problem with my taking time off for fertility treatments. Indeed, when I told him we would be doing IVF and I would need to take some time off during the busiest time of the year for our organization, he said “Do what you need to do. I wish you the best of luck!”
  • I am thankful that our clinic isn’t farther away. I complain a lot about having to drive 3 hours one way for our RE visits, including 10 minute monitoring scans, but I know it could be worse.
  • I’m thankful for my therapist. She is an infertility veteran, so she truly gets it. She also runs the local Resolve support group.
  • I’m thankful for our kittens. Part of me thought that adopting pets would somehow mean that we had given up the hope of having a baby, but it’s only strengthened my resolve, mostly because I see how awesome both M and I are at caring for living creatures. Even though I know pets are not children and in no way could they ever replace kids, they have allowed us to unleash some of our pent-up parental energy. Plus, it’s hard to be stressed out or sad with them around.

    Yes, that's a kitten sleeping in a glass bowl.

    Yes, that’s a kitten sleeping in a glass bowl previously dedicated to fresh fruit.

  • I am thankful for my health. Aside from infertility and endometriosis, I have very few health issues. The ones I do have – an intolerance for gluten (thankfully not an allergy), IBS, and chronic knee pain – are (so far) manageable and don’t keep me from doing the things I love.
4 thoughts on “Giving Thanks

  1. can’t seem to stop thinking of YOU! wishing YOU luck & JOY
    drive safely… please…..& get studded winter tires :)hugs
    & this is coming from a gal that lives in Yukon Territory, Canada
    safe travels & lots of good vibes coming your way KITTEN

Talk to Me!

