IVF, Here We Come!

If you follow me on Twitter, you already know that the IUI was a bust.

The morning before I tested, I had a series of dreams (4 or 5) in which I tested and got a positive. In most of them, M and I were so happy, we cried big, body-shaking sobs of pure joy. Needless to say, I was especially devastated when the cold reality of a stark white negative test was staring me in the face.

How? How could I not be pregnant when I had two eggs ready to go and M’s super-sperm got that huge assist from the medical staff? I know there are a million other things that have to line up just so in order for pregnancy to happen, but I’m still frustrated and angry that this didn’t work. I’m now worried that my egg quality is too low, but there’s no way to know for sure until we try IVF.

We are scheduled to take an IVF orientation class next week, the first step of the process for our clinic. After the class, one of the nurses will put us on the schedule and put together my calendar of medications and monitoring appointments. At this clinic, they do egg retrieval and transfers just one week a month, so there are a limited number of slots each month. We may have to wait until December or even January for our turn. I’m usually a fairly patient person, but this will be a challenge.

Since this is new territory for us, I plan to bury myself in research to learn as much as I can about the process and what I can to do optimize our chances. One of my first goals is to meet with a dietician to get myself on a more healthy track and to lose some weight quickly (but safely). Fortunately, my clinic does not have a weight requirement, but I know our chances are better if I drop more than a few pounds. I’m also curious about supplements to (maybe) improve egg quality. I’ve already contact my clinic about that.

So, even while I’m still upset that the IUI didn’t work, I’m actually looking forward to this next step. I’m scared that we’ll find out my eggs just aren’t good enough, but mostly I’m pretty hopeful that IVF will be our golden ticket to finally having a baby. I haven’t felt authentic hope in quite some time. That alone is a little scary.

27 thoughts on “IVF, Here We Come!

  1. I haven’t been twittering (tweeting? I kinda like twittering better…) much lately, so I missed this. I’m very sorry to hear the IUI wasn’t successful. I’m glad you’re feeling hopeful about IVF though. Chances with IVF are much better than with IUI! The waiting will be hard, but maybe a “break” while you prepare for this next step will be good. You can take whatever supplements you think will help, work on losing weight, do some research, and hopefully enjoy yourself. LOTS of luck to you!!!

  2. I was both scared and hopeful when we tried IVF that they would find out why IUIs didn’t work. We didn’t find out, but I did get pregnant. I’m with you on being confused why IUI doesn’t work (over and over and over – 10 times for us!) In terms of supplements (I was also scared I had poor egg quality) I took coQ10, fish oil, prenatal, vitamin D, and did the disgusting wheatgrass. I think for supplements they tell you to take them months in advance of IVF to build up better quality of eggs, so maybe that will cushion the blow of not doing IVF until the end of the year/beginning of next? (Although to be fair, I’m not sure if there is actually ANYTHING you can do to make your eggs a better quality (if that is in fact your issue.))

  3. I’m so sorry that the IUI didn’t work, but I’m glad you’re hopeful for IVF. The wait seems long I’m sure but it will be here before you know it. I truly believe that food affects our health (and our eggs) in ways we don’t even understand yet. Leading up to this cycle, I started taking Co-Q10, fermented cod liver oil and magnesium along with my regular fertility multi-vitamin. I quit coffee and soy. I also limited carbs (especially breads and pastas), focused on veggies and healthy proteins (grass-fed meats, salmon and other fish) and fats (grass-fed butter, coconut oil, oilve oil, avocado and nuts). I ate a ton of avocados since there is some research related to higher success rates for women eating avocado during their cycle and I ate a few brazil nuts every couple of days – not my favorite but supposedly they’re good for you. Honestly I don’t know if any of this made a difference for me but I felt like I was doing everything I reasonably could. IVF can be stressful so take care of yourself and let me know if you have any questions…

    • They’ll have to pry the caffeine from my cold, dead hands! I don’t consume all that much, anyway. I love avocados, so it will not be a problem to add in more (except the times when I can’t find ripe ones, which seems to happen when I want them the most). I’ve recently started eating more nuts and limiting carbs… along the lines of low GI. Realistically, I know that it may not make much of a difference in egg quality, but at least my overall health will be better.

  4. That’s nice that your clinic doesn’t have a weight requirement. Before I can even be considered for IVF, my BMI needs to be below 38 at the most. They really want it below 36. So that leaves us on a break right now trying to lose some weight and get healthy. I wish you all the luck in the world!!

    • I was relieved to learn that it wasn’t a requirement at my clinic, but the male RE was quick to tell me that if I were to do IVF in Minneapolis (the next closest clinic to here), they wouldn’t take me at this weight. 😦 Thanks a lot. I’ve been wanting to lose weight – I know I need to and I know that it can only help – but the stress of having to lose weight would probably be counter-productive for me. Wishing you the best of luck!

  5. Hey there, I’m in the IVF boat as well, my husband and I are starting with Mini IVF at the end of this month. If your clinic does Mini you may want to look into that if IVF sounds overwhelming. I know what you are saying about being a patient person but going insane from waiting!!! Good luck to you! 🙂

  6. wishing you lots and lots of luck. I found Zita Wests book on IVF really helpful as it sets out each step – I scanned pages and sent to my family so they can understand too! If you’re up for a bit of chinese medicine stuff Emma Cannon’s ‘Baby making bible’ was really good to help me feel like I was ‘doing something’! xx

  7. It’s scary to move on to the big guns of IVF, but I hope it will be what works for you! And the wait is a lot easier if you spend it focusing on getting as healthy as you can, so I’d say that’s a really good plan!

  8. I wish you best of luck and really hope IVF will bring you a baby soon! Let me know if I can help in any way. I can’t help much on the process though since it’s not the same country,

  9. In the same boat here, overwhelmed and (sometimes) excited to be moving forward with IVF. I’m also trying to use the time to prepare my body as much as possible – taking CoQ10, fish oil, B complex, D, and my usual prenatals, along with having cut out gluten and all alcohol (I gave up caffeine a long time ago, but I don’t think a moderate amount would hurt)…It just helps to have something to focus on, and reading your post is re-inspiring me in a moment of weakness! Maybe we can be IVF prep buddies! 😉
    I really hope this will be the magic number for both of us!

Talk to Me!

