Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 11

Thank you for all the nice comments after my last, rather whiny post. I am feeling much, much better today. In fact, I haven’t needed any pain medication at all today! I still have some pain, but it’s more like a regular old sore throat. My uvula is still mega-swollen, so much so that I can’t sleep comfortably lying down. I think the back of my tongue might be swollen, too, but I can’t get a good look back there.

I’m hoping to eat something normal today, but I can’t decide what I want. You’d think it would be easy after a week and a half of liquid and soft foods, but it’s actually quite difficult to decide a) what I want (I want it all), and b) what I can handle (who the hell knows).

I think I’ve lost about 10 pounds so far. On a big girl like me, that’s not much, but I’ll take what I can get! Hopefully, I can keep up the momentum of small portions.

Thanks for sticking with me during all these boring updates! I promise only one or two more of these before getting back to the main topic of this blog.

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 1

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 3

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 8

DOs & DON’Ts of Recovering from an Adult Tonsillectomy

35 thoughts on “Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 11

  1. It’s great you’re starting to feel better, I hope you are able to eat something normal when you decide what you want lol have a great day:)

  2. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 8 | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  3. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: T Minus 24 Hours | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  4. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 1 | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  5. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 3 | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  6. Pingback: DOs & DON’Ts of Recovering from an Adult Tonsillectomy | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  7. Wow these updates are helping! I am 25 years old female and also have endometriosis and I can so relate to you. Everything you are saying from day to day is so right. I am so much pain. I am on day 3 ugh. Just want to say thank you

  8. I know your Do’s and Dont’s list said this was only for an adult Tonsillectomy, I’m only 16 but we’ll count that as close enough 🙂 Boy, on day five post op and I almost wish I hadn’t. The only thoughts keeping me fighting are memories of being sick causing me to miss a month of school for at least a month every year since 6th grade, and knowing I’ll go through this just once. How long did it take for you to talk normally? I tried talking today and I just can’t seem to do vowels. My tongue is also pretty swollen so I’m sure that has something to do with it. So excited for when I’ll be able to enjoy real food again! Thanks in advance for the reply 🙂

    • I don’t remember how long it took to talk normally, but I do remember the pain and swelling lasted quite a long time, almost 2 weeks. Right around the one week mark was the worst. I hope you start to feel better soon!

  9. I’m finding baby food to be the perfect post-tonsillectomy food. Sweet potatoes, green beans, carrots, mixed vegetables, plus lots of fruit mixes. For me it’s been the perfect way to keep my nutrition up so I can recover fast, and also take extra care of my throat. If Loretab doesn’t fill in all the pain gaps, supplement it with liquid children’s ibuprofen. It made my tonsillectomy bearable! Good luck everyone!

  10. I know I’m probably so behind from when you posted this blog but thank god for you. I’m on day 7 and i have been going to work since day 5 and i want to kill myself. Today they literally made me go home because i could not function.

    I feel like someone took razor blades to the top as well as bottom of my tongue. I didn’t know that i shouldn’t be talking, sigh…..

    I pray that it gets better soon because im sooooooo hungry. I feel like I’m forcing my body to do to much and it’s hating me. Thanks for your blog it’s helped he have a little hope.

  11. This blog was very helpful!! Thank you, I am 31 just got my tonsils out and am on day 5.
    This whole thing has not seemed that horrible. They cauterized mine thou, not sure how anyone else’s were done. I am already going back to work, even though I am a hairdresser, I can choose my work load which is great!

  12. I’m on day 8 and I can honestly say yes this is the worst pain I’ve experience I haven’t slept in days every time I do fall asleep seems my mouth swells up and I mean toung, upper yaw, and gums and then the pain wakes you up worst then day one…..just saying its 4:28am and here I am trying to find a solution …..

  13. Its been 8 days since my surgery for getting my tonsils out . I can’t sleep at night and it’s still hard to drink water & even eat soothing foods like pudding or creamed soup. I’ve been getting earaches everyday every time I drink water . I can’t even take my medicine ( tylone codeine ) without my throat getting really dry and stings . How long until the pain ends. Any suggestions????

    • I’m so sorry you’re in so much pain! I think day 8 or around that time was the worst for me. It was hard to imagine that I would ever be well, that’s how much it hurt. By now you should be feeling good again.

  14. I’m on day 10, and I’m pretty much back to normal. Able to eat cheese and meats, even ordering a pizza for dinner! I have to chew my food a lot more than before, but I can get it down. Also, if the pain is still bad, you should consider going to your local hospital. A lot of the time, you get dehydrated even when you believe you’re not, and they can give you saline to rehydrate you. I got very dehydrated by day 7, and I had to do it. The dehydration made everything swell up and made the pain a lot worse.

  15. Well it’s good to know I am not the only one in this boat(35yrs old) I am on day 4 and its hurts so bad!!!! Childbirth wasn’t this bad! I am so hungry and I can barley even drink water! Pain mess made me puke so I am only taking children’s Tylenol which seems to do NOTHING!!!! Please can it be day 14 so I can have a somewhat normal life and go back to work and hopefully feel a little better! Not one to sit around all day!!!!

  16. I am 48 years old and just had my tonsils removed Saturday August 6, 2016. I’m in a lot of pain. I’m starving and it is so painful to even drink. I’m not supposed to be doing anything but my husband is an a**. He thinks I should be able to get up and go everywhere after hearing my doc plainly telling him the do’s and dont’s.

  17. Day 7 and oh man I’m over this!!! I feel bad for the lady who said her husband hasn’t been supportive. This was much worst than what I was expecting. I’m trying to be positive food would be great so I’m printing every recipe I plan to eat when I feel up to it again!

    • I just had mine removed yesterday morning (10-21-16). Pain sucks, swallowing even the smallest sip of water makes me feel like Im choking. Every time I fall asleep I wake back up in pain from swallowing in my sleep. I know Im going to become dehydrated. 😦

      • I had mine done 5 weeks ago. The pain wasn’t as bad as I expected to be. Reading so many post did terrify me that I almost cancel my appointment. Especially when some women said it was worse than childbirth. For me it wasn’t. The only thing was bad was the ear pain but with pain meds it helped alot. I drunk alot of water like gallon a day and that helped alot. As of today I have the feeling that something is stuck on the right side where the tonsils was worse. Hopefully this feeling will go away soon because it’s very annoying, and a little pain when I swallow only on the right side but no pain meds needed. If this feeling doesn’t go away, I will talk to my ENT doctor when i go to my appointment on November 10th

  18. I’m 24 and on day 6 and it seems like taking 1 or 2 pain meds doesn’t really help much anymore and it hurts to swallow which is preventing me to eat or drink so I think my recovery time is going to take longer. It hurts in both ears, throat and back of tongue. Any suggestions on what else I could take for the pain so I can try and swallow water? Ice packs help but the don’t last longer than 10 minutes it seems like. Definitely didn’t expect this much pain. Wouldn’t do it again if I had the chance unless on longer lasting medicine that didn’t make me feel sick, dizzy and tired.

    • I still remember that pain, just as you described. My only suggestion is to take the pain medication as often as you safely can, and don’t miss a dose. Even if you have to set an alarm and get up in the night. Also, try to eat and drink about 30 minutes after you take a dose, as that’s when the meds usually kick in. I know it doesn’t seem worth it now, but it’s been 3.5 years since my surgery, and I haven’t had a single sore throat. You WILL heal. You WILL feel better.

      • If I take 2 pain pills ever 4 hours they seem to work but I only got 60 of them with no refills and have 9 left. Thankfully when when I woke up today it wasn’t so bad to eat but still some pain. I just wish the pain was over and done with. I try to drink ice water now and hope that helps. I’m going to stop the pain medicine and try just Tylenol and see if it helps if not more Popsicle and ice packs.

  19. I have endometriosis as well and endo is only painful for a small bit. (But we all know it’s severe). I’m on day 8 of my tonsillectomy and I’m in terrible shape. I’ve lost 13 lbs. I was 135lb going into surgery and am now 122. I’m struggling to keep anything down an my liquid pain medicine has become repulsive because I keep throwing up. I just got some nausea medicine prescribed. I hope this pain ends soon. Thanks for your blogging. It’s helping even 4 years later.

Talk to Me!

