Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 1

I feel relatively good compared to all the scary warnings and stories. I’m in pain, but it’s far from the worst pain I’ve ever experienced. (That prize still goes to the ruptured cyst.) I have some nasty mouth rinse and even nastier liquid pain-killer that keeps the majority of the pain away. The worst part is that I can’t really sleep. My uvula is about twice its usual size, which is normal after a tonsillectomy, but makes it hard to breath when I lie down. There isn’t much I can do about it but wait.

Speaking of waiting…. I arrived at the outpatient surgery center at 9:45 am yesterday as instructed for my procedure. The nurse had me change into a gown almost right away, which I thought was a good sign. Boy I was I wrong! I didn’t get wheeled into surgery until 3:30 pm. I understand that the doctor can’t predict which surgeries might take longer, but that wait was torture! I was woozy from lack of food and water, and since they didn’t allow any valuables, I had to wait without my iPhone and internet connection. There was so much chatter and TV noises around me, I couldn’t sleep, either. Not to mention, I was sitting in the most uncomfortable recliner one can imagine.

Aside from some chocolate pudding at the hospital and a few bites of applesauce this morning, I haven’t eaten anything of substance. Surprisingly, I’m not hungry. Not that lack of hunger has ever stopped me from eating, but in this case, I’m pretty sure my sore throat is overriding any hunger signals from my stomach. I’m totally okay with that! I’m sure I’ll eventually get my appetite back, but for now I’m going to enjoy not having one, with the hopes that I come out of this weighing a bit less.

________________________________________________________

In baby making news, it seems my period decided to arrive early. At just 9 dpo, I already have heavy spotting that will probably turn to full flow by the end of the day, or tomorrow morning. I’m not surprised – this is how my broken bits normally operate – but it means no IUI for July, and, if we need IVF, it wouldn’t happen until fall or winter, which isn’t a great scenario. If I weren’t so drugged up, I might be more upset about all that. Or not. It’s hard to tell, after 3 break cycles, whether I really care about getting pregnant anymore. Yeah, I know…. I should probably figure that one out before going big guns on assisted reproduction.

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 3

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 8

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 11

DOs & DON’Ts of Recovering from an Adult Tonsillectomy

12 thoughts on “Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 1

  1. I’m glad you’re feeling OK and it’s not as bad as predicted. I wonder if I should do this too… As for whether or not you care out getting pregnant, I’m guessing that’s the drugs talking… I’m sure you care but sometimes there are other things that are more important like taking care of yourself and your hubby’s continued recovery. Once those are in place you’ll come back to TTC with renewed vigor. I only meant to take 3 months off and here I am almost 1 year later…

  2. I would have passed out waiting that long without eating! I’m glad you’re feeling okay (or at least on some good drugs!). Hope you feel back to normal soon!

  3. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 8 | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  4. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: T Minus 24 Hours | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  5. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 11 | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  6. Pingback: Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 3 | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

  7. Pingback: DOs & DON’Ts of Recovering from an Adult Tonsillectomy | Yet Another Bitter Infertile

Talk to Me!

