Tonsillectomy Diaries: T Minus 24 Hours

I’m more nervous for this than I was for my laparoscopy back in October. Recovery will be rough; everything I’ve read online and heard from my doctors tells me that I could be in hell for a while. I think they want to be absolutely sure that I need the surgery, so they tried to scare me, in case I’m just faking it to get two weeks off work and all the ice cream I can eat. All I can think about is how much better I (and my husband) will sleep once these evil tonsils are gone, and how I’ll never have to suffer from another tonsil infection. I’ll admit, I’m also looking forward to shedding a few pounds (or 20). A final benefit to the surgery: I have an inarguable excuse for skipping out on the family Fourth of July celebration, which will be attended by all four of my pregnant cousins.

I’m not looking forward to the recovery period; in fact, I’m doing my best not to think about it at all. Instead, I’m planning for a little vacation to the couch. I have my list of exotic foods and beverages:

  • Gatorade
  • Frozen yogurt
  • Popsicles
  • Applesauce
  • Mashed potatoes
  • Frozen mixed berry smoothies
  • Low-sodium chicken broth

(You may notice there’s no Jell-O on this list, because the very thought of the jiggly stuff makes me want to vomit.)

I’m building an epic Netflix queue to catch up on every movie I’ve ever wanted to see, but haven’t had the time. (I’m also taking recommendations.) I plan to catch up on my blog reading, which I’ve neglected for the past two weeks, due to lots and lots of work-related travel. My 2013 book list keeps growing, so I hope to catch up on my reading, too. Will that be enough to distract me from the pain? I hope so.

Adios, jerks.

Adios, jerks.

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 1

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 3

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 8

Tonsillectomy Diaries: Recovery Day 11

DOs & DON’Ts of Recovering from an Adult Tonsillectomy

4 thoughts on “Tonsillectomy Diaries: T Minus 24 Hours

  1. I hope you feel a lot better once those suckers are out! (You know, after the recovery.) I can recommend movies: Submarine, Safety Not Guaranteed, Another Earth, An Education, Never Let Me Go, Freida, My First Mister. Warning: I kind of have weird/downer taste in movies, so if you need a pick-me-up, just watch anything with Audrey Hepburn and/or Cary Grant. 🙂

Talk to Me!

