Damn Good (Gluten-Free) Cookies!

Today being one of those wet, dreary days I wished I had stayed home, I decided to treat myself to a yummy hot tea from my favorite local shop, Steep Me A Cup of Tea (how clever is that name? LOVE it!). It’s one of my favorite places in all of Bismarck. (Uh, oh, I feel my internet anonymity slowly slipping away….) But, that’s not what this post is about.

It’s about the cookies. The awesome gluten-free cookies hiding on the counter when I paid for my tea.

I haven’t been gluten-free for long (since November 2012, roughly), and I’m not 100% gluten-free. Fortunately, I’m not allergic, but it seems I do have a sensitivity. I decided to try (nearly) gluten-free after my endometriosis diagnosis. I won’t go into all the boring details (I don’t understand them all, anyway), but the gist is that a gluten-free diet may reduce the pain associated with endometriosis. I noticed within days that I felt better in general, had more energy, my facial flushing practically disappeared, and my IBS all but resolved itself. As for the endo pain… only time will tell. The study referenced above noted an improvement after 12 months gluten-free. And, I assume the participants were totally gluten-free, unlike me. However, even if I don’t see a reduction in endo-related pain (which isn’t all that terrible for me to begin with), the other benefits are well worth keeping gluten out of my body as much as possible.

So… back to the cookies. Finding gluten-free alternatives to the things I love – like cookies and bagels – is no easy task. Pre-made gluten-free bread is pretty terrible, in my opinion. Making my own – from scratch or a mix – is better, but more work than it’s worth. I’ve all but given up on bread. Lucky for me (but not so lucky for my waistline), I found a wonderful chocolate chip cookie mix, but sometimes I just want to grab a quick, single-serving treat.

Enter the best cookies in the world, from Alternative Baking Company.

IMG_1341IMG_1340

I was expecting them to have the same dry, fall-apart texture as most other gluten-free products, but I was delightfully surprised. Had I not known they were gluten-free, I never would have guessed it. The Fudge Indulgence variety is more like a brownie – soft, moist, and chewy. And packed full of chocolate! Pumpkin Delight was equally soft, and I could actually taste the pumpkin. The spices were strong, so if you’re not too keen on spicy cookies, you might want to stay away from this one.

Did I mention these cookies are also vegan? I can’t imagine how impossible it must be to be a gluten-free vegan.

I’m not much of a calorie counter, but in case you were wondering, each cookie is about 240 calories (2-ounce cookie).

Anyway, I can’t tell you how excited I am to know that I can stop at my favorite tea place for a tasty gluten-free treat whenever I want. Bonus: It’s close to my office.

For the record: I did not receive compensation of any kind for this post, nor was I asked to write a review. In fact, I purchased everything out of my own pocket, and was inspired by its deliciousness to share it with you. Feel free to share your favorite gluten-free products in the comments. I’m always looking for new things to try.

9 thoughts on “Damn Good (Gluten-Free) Cookies!

  1. Have you tried Udi’s gluten free bread?? I had read online that it was the best and I found some in my local grocery store and would have to agree. I’ve only tried a couple of other gluten free breads (that were terrible) and then I stopped with the Udi’s because it’s really good! And those cookies look awesome!

  2. I tried the Udi’s bagels. They’re kind of okay toasted, but I’m not a big fan. “Real” bagels are one of my indulgences (that I usually pay for later).

  3. When I started reading this it was lunch time and I was waiting for my food to arrive. It was torture! As an endo-sister, I’m also gluten free and not as strict as I should be. This weekend my mom made the most amazing berry tart with almond flour. It totally rocked my world! I ate half the pan and gained 2 lbs. as a result! It’s just as easy to be bad when you’re gluten-free unfortunately. Hehe.

  4. I have endo and going GF was the best thing ever….good on you for giving ‘er a try. 🙂 There are some downright awesome GF products out there; I chuckle when I tell people I’m GF and they assume I’ve lost a lot of weight. Ha! Not with today’s awesome goodies!

    P.S. I way dig that Alternative Baking Company’s website…hilarious.

  5. I’ve actually been pretty strict with my gluten-free diet since December. I think the only thing I’ve had is a piece of “real” pizza in February. Luckily, I’m not a fan of cookies, but those look delicious! Pretty packaging always gets me.
    I eat the Glutino sesame seed bagels on occasion, but have actually never tried GF bread. It’s like $8 a loaf, but I’ve been craving grilled cheese lately, so I think I’m going to go for it.
    Not to draw attention to your disclosure or anything, but my dad lives in ND!

Talk to Me!

