Star Trek

I let the cat out of the bag on my Star Trek addiction in my last post. Since I received some positive comments, I decided to dedicate an entire post to it. Aren’t you lucky?

Much like the whole nonbeliever/atheist thing, I’m not concerned with proper labeling of my Star Trek enthusiasm. Call me a Trekkie, Trekker, whathaveyou…. I’m a fan. A big fan. But not really a Big Fan.

I’m not the kind of fan who dresses in a Star Trek costume or attends conventions. Not because I think those are ridiculous things to do, but because 1) I’m not confident enough to wear a costume of any kind in public (not even on Halloween), and 2) as much as I would love to attend a convention, the timing never seems to work out.

I’m not the kind of fan who debates the emergence of Klingon brow ridges or concerns herself with whether or not a certain scientific principle is sound based on our current real-life understanding of the universe. I am aware of these things, and have often discussed them with my husband, but it doesn’t go much further than that.

I’m not the kind of fan who argues about which series is best. I’m not even the kind of fan who has seen them all. Gasp! For the record, my favorite is The Next Generation (TNG), followed by Voyager, then Enterprise. I’m not crazy about the original series, although watching it with my mom when I was a kid is what got me hooked. I never made it past the pilot episode of Deep Space Nine. It just didn’t appeal to me. Perhaps I’ll give it another chance some day.

I am the kind of fan who watches her favorite episodes over and over again, and periodically re-watches an entire season start to finish.

I am the kind of fan who sports a Star Trek-inspired tattoo. (Sorry, no photo. It’s a custom job, and I’m paranoid that someone I know may see it and blow my secret blog cover.)

I am the kind of fan who daydreams about a (mostly) idyllic Star Trek future. No more poverty, war, or disease. No blind pursuit of wealth at the expense of others. A world united for the purposes of exploration and scientific advancement. And all that cool technology! Holodecks, hyposprays, scanners, transporters, warp engines. I get a lady nerd boner just thinking about it.

I am the kind of fan who isn’t ashamed to admit (okay, I’m moderately ashamed to admit) that I’ve daydreamed about being romantically involved with just about every major male character. In case you were wondering, Chakotay and Captain Picard are my top choices.

I am the kind of fan who used Star Trek to illustrate linguistic principles when I taught in graduate school.

Finally, I am the kind of fan who will dress her kids up in all manner of Star Trek-inspired clothes and accessories.

9 thoughts on “Star Trek

  1. Dude. (a) I am hot for Spock (the new Spock in the recent film, and I don’t care if the actor is gay) and (b) I too daydream of a Star Trek utopia. Specifically, after this many vag ultrasounds, I daydream of a freaking medical tricorder.

        • I watched BG when I was sick with the flu 2 years ago. I was out of work for 2 weeks and managed to watch pretty much the entire series in that time. I’m still bitter about the ending.

  2. 1) You are awesome and I’m totally digging this post.
    2) I squeeled a little (very girly) when I got to the Darmok and Jalad clip, because I too have used that episode in my anthropology teaching!
    3) I once went to an exhibition called ‘The Star Trek Experience’ when it came to London, and had my picture taken on the bridge. I would totally go to a convention if the opportunity arose.
    4) My husband and I have recently started re-watching DS9 start to finish, and it’s better than I remember, though TNG remains my all-time fave.
    5) I’m totally curious about your tattoo.

    • Thank you! 🙂 The course I taught was anthropological linguistics. I also used an episode of Spongebob Squarepants (in which he ends up in Rock Bottom where everyone makes a raspberry sound every other word). I’m pretty sure you could use Star Trek for just about every academic discipline. Even non-fans dig it.

Talk to Me!

