Ultrasound Party? You’ve Got to Be Kidding Me

Ultrasound Party? You’ve Got to Be Kidding Me

Okay, I know I said in a recent post that I want to get to a place where I can celebrate happy times with my loved ones like I used to. However, if anyone-including my own sisters-ever invited me to one of these ultrasound parties, I would tell them to fuck off (politely, of course). I would be there to congratulate them when they announce the baby’s sex, and I would attend the baby shower (I’d even play the silly games), but I would not subject myself to viewing the inside of someone else’s uterus while a room full of people ooh and aah.

Call me crazy, but this kind of thing should be private. I wouldn’t want to go to an ultrasound alone, but there’s no way I would want a room full of people there. What if it’s bad news? What if there’s no heartbeat, or what if there’s something else wrong with the baby? What if someone in the room silently suffers from infertility or loss and is heartbroken to see your healthy baby?

I thought sex reveal parties (yes, I mean sex ; you won’t know the baby’s gender until much, much later) were too much, but this takes the cake.

5 thoughts on “Ultrasound Party? You’ve Got to Be Kidding Me

  1. Wow – that is awful. I would also add – what about the effect of ultra sound on the developing baby?, there are some studies coming out now saying it can effect development. If an ultra sound is necessary that’s fine, but to do it for a party? that is just misuse.

  2. just stumbled here from belle’s blog. glad you are writing your story!!

    can’t help but comment on this:

    “What if it’s bad news? What if there’s no heartbeat, or what if there’s something else wrong with the baby? What if someone in the room silently suffers from infertility or loss and is heartbroken to see your healthy baby?”

    … non-IF-ers dont worry about this. it’s just us that worry 😦 not that it cant happen to “them”, but just that it never crosses their minds because they’ve never felt the loss and frustration and fear.

    good luck in your journey.

Talk to Me!

